The Right Education

It all started with this brow-raising article in which Ms Narayan holds forth on the unfortunate consequences of mixing social classes as part of the Indian Govt’s Right to Education Act. Over Rated wrote a scathing takedown of that elitist garbage and the author has returned to her natural habitat of champagne mimosas and alternative healing, so I won’t froth at the mouth anymore. I wanted to cover my thoughts on RTE but @shantanub
has written an excellent post about it, so that’s that.

I should mention that my first reaction to Ms. Narayan’s article wasn’t one of anger. It was a feeling that the lady has never heard of Kendriya Vidyalayas, or Central Schools. The Government’s quiet, ubiquitous educational work-horses catering to folks who shift cities regularly due to their jobs. My father was in the Indian Air Force and KVs ensured we transitioned between cities with no breaks in education or radical changes in syllabus. I’ve spent well over a decade in KVs in different locations and have come to appreciate its dedicated teachers and students who plod on in search of brilliance despite an apathetic Sangathan. I have no qualms about painting KVs with a broad, appreciative brush because my observations and interactions, though empirical, have been reinforced through similar experiences of friends, relatives and acquaintances.

KVs are everywhere. There are more than a thousand, some even outside India in places like Kathmandu, Moscow and Muscat. They service lonely outposts like Asansol and Chabua or proliferate in cities like Pune and Mumbai.

They operate on a relatively modest budget of around 360 Million $/year, which includes the expenditure to build new schools and maintain existing schools. And yet, they are unbelievably affordable. For example, the cost of attending a Class 12 Science course at a KV is around 100 USD. Per YEAR.

The quality of education is excellent. I spent 6 years in a KV which regularly churned out IIT-ians, merit students, NTS scholars, national rankers and this was partly due to the quality of teachers. The reason they strive to get the best teachers is because KVs are incredibly competitive. There are 12 KVs in Pune alone and during the time I studied in Pune, KV Southern Command ruled the roost. It was a constant thorn in our side – sports or academics. Our preparation for competitions was never complete without an intel update from teachers on the prep KVSC is putting in. The principal at our KV took an active interest in keeping track of the teachers at KVSC and I suspect, even tried to poach some of them. No holds barred. That sort of thing.

Here’s an anecdote which I think best describes a KV teacher. I read Michael Crichton’s “Jurassic Park” in ’97 and became a dinophile. I was fascinated in particular by the mention of “Loy’s Procedure to extract DNA from bones” in the book. The next day I approached Ms. Chacko, our venerable old Biology teacher. She had no idea what Loy’s Procedure was, but assured me she’d find out. Keep in mind, this was before the days of the internet. Two days later, she approached me with a disappointed look. “I couldn’t find anything in the school library” (which was sizeable). I nodded, thanked her for looking and forgot all about it. A week later she met me after class and said “oh, by the way, I went over to Pune University and asked someone there about Loy’s Procedure. The person said she hadn’t heard of it but she did write down other DNA extraction techniques.” At that point she handed me a crisp, ruled A4 sheet. Clearly not the original page of scribbles. She had transferred the (presumably) illegible handwriting into her own neat cursive, so I could read what she had learned. I was quite grateful and a bit of a git to not understand the dedication she had shown to her role as an educator.

Of course, it won’t be accurate to say that every one of the 1000+ KVs is a beacon of academic excellence or quality teaching, but you get the point.

KVs accept everyone. Over a million children. Although they are primarily meant for families in the Armed Forces or those in transferable Government jobs, they don’t make any other distinctions. As a result, every KV is a melting pot of socio-economic classes, attitudes, backgrounds, cultures and in some cases, nationalities. During my time there, I studied with rich kids, middle-class kids, kids whose families made the best of modest budgets, children of enlisted men, children of officers and government bigshots. Not once did I feel inferior to someone richer, or superior to someone with lesser means. I never bothered to understand why that may be so. Especially since some of the other kids in the IAF station I lived in went to more elite, expensive schools. We knew the hierarchy. We understood that KVs weren’t even half as glamorous, but it never really mattered.

Perhaps, we were too young to be affected by social distinctions. Or perhaps our school ensured they eliminated such bias with a carefully inculcated regimen of standardization. They encouraged us to look beyond inequities by constantly pounding in us the realization of a common goal – excellence. In sports or academics. Every achiever was deified by the school, publicly and in their internal publications. High-scorers in examinations were feted with all the pomp and splendor a government-funded school could muster. Winners of sporting events proudly accepted token cash prizes at the morning assembly. When I cast my mind back, I’d say the folks who excelled were a representative mix of social classes. But we didn’t care. Their achievements were glorified, not their means.

Every morning when we entered the gates of our school we became part of a community that expected its denizens to leave prejudice at the door. Our uniforms were distinctly unglamourous, but they served their purpose. They made us equal. Even those stark, sparse victims of Ujala Supreme and the neighborhood istri-wala’s iron had to be sharp and clean. Money couldn’t help you with that. Only discipline.

I’ve had a similar experience outside India. I spent two years in Bhutan and at the time, there were only two good schools in the area we stayed in. One was a KV (!!), two hours away. The other was a fledgling new institute called the Teacher’s Training Center and Demonstration School (TTC & DS) in Paro. As its name suggests, it was meant to train teachers who could then travel to the furthest outposts of Bhutan and continue their noble cause. I enroled at TTC and was surprised to find a mix of Indian and American teachers. The school had spared no expense in hiring the best educators their modest grant could manage. Even more surprising was the mix of students. It was literally everyone. The Bhutanese colloquialism for a person of means is “dasho” and I can tell you we defense kids studied with some pretty rich and spoiled dasho-lets as well as the children of very poor farmers. Again, the relentless standardization and pursuit of a common goal beat the smugness out of many. Once, King Jigme Wangchuk visited the school and addressed the students. He chided the local Bhutanese for not being academically competitive enough with the “non-nationals” (a rough translation of the Dzongkha term for Indians) and encouraged them, irrespective of social class, to stay in step with us.

The common goal.

It’s only now that I realize the effect of such indoctrination. By glamorizing values that transcended social barriers, it made us better human beings, more accepting of our countrymen.

The KVs impart an important lesson to elitists like Ms Narayan. If they’re worried about social distinctions affecting education, then the relevance of that education ceases to exist.

Tags: ,

47 responses to “The Right Education”

  1. Arjumand says :

    I come from a convent school, aided, like most other convents. And I take pride in saying that my school had and still has, a very inclusive education system. We had students from all classes of society – rich businessmen’s daughters and even our class-4 employees’ girls studying together. I remember, when almost all of were going for our class 10 picnic (the last one in school) and one of our classmates could not afford to pay the picnic amount; our teacher had asked all of us to contribute money (without disclosing her name) so she could accompany the rest of the class on the outing. I am now in the 12th standard, in a corporate school, which has not a hint of inclusivity in its education system. All the kids come from affluent families and nearly all of them are extremely brattish.

  2. dyogesh4u says :

    I have not studied in KV but i can relate to the Ms. Chacko anecdote. The two clearly inter-linked things that i now find missing in many schools are : Many teachers who really love the job and students who love their teachers. By the latter, i mean students who would want to meet their teacher. This is purely from speaking to currently studying cousins et al… I am not surprised at it because as i grew up, i realised that there were very few who were genuinely interested in becoming teachers. Even by the time i passed out in 2000, i could see the change in my school. The newer set of teachers were here for lack of a better job.

    Also, sometimes i feel for the teachers today as they are given little freedom and pressurized by various numbers such as pass percentage, number of distinctions. Even my old teachers were complaining as they were retiring. Some of them has very bad experiences at the so-called elitist school where they were asked to make some compromises for the children of “big” people.

  3. NoFees says :

    I only spent 2 years in KV NEHU, in Shillong – my best two years. It did much to erase the horrors of 10 years of convent school, years filled with deep racial, religious and class distinctions. KV, on the other hand, offered the best of adolescence – sport, academia and I say this earnestly, romance! I think what it did for me was simply let me be! Thanks for stirring up these memories :)

    • daddysan says :

      :) That’s sweet, NoFees. Romance and KVs don’t usually go hand in hand (in my experience!) but I’m glad that happened too.

  4. Destination Infinity says :

    I never studied in KV personally, but many of my friends come from KV. Actually, the school I went to during my 11th and 12th standard consisted of all the bright students from various schools of my locality. I was surprised to learn that KV students did better than everyone else on an average, every year. I was even more surprised to learn that KV was a central govt managed school. I was waiting for someone to write an article like this.

    Destination Infinity

  5. Madhu says :

    A wonderfully written article, especially this gem . ‘If they’re worried about social distinctions affecting education, then the relevance of that education ceases to exist.’
    I have never attended any KV school, but i know people who have excelled from these institutions. I hope the government makes initiatives to increase these schools in remote places.
    -Madhu

  6. RD says :

    I am a ‘produce’ of a KV, in Pune. I am not an officer’s daughter and none of my classmates in my time in the school were. At the time I was studying in this school, there was another KV in the vicinity which was considered elite (I suspect you’re bred in one of them judging by your story in the post). Part of the reason it was considered elite was it had a good number of higher middle class or put more precisely, officer’s kids. To be fair, it was highly regarded, not just because it had officer’s kids but also because the school did indeed excel in all the regional, state or national level activities – be it sports, cultural or academic. I can’t deny the snobbery that clearly showed through in my interactions with a few (and by few – I mean, only those coming from well-to-do families) kids of this school though. So on one hand I agree with the egalitarian values that the KVs tried to inculcate amongst the kids of various cultural and social backgrounds, but on the other hand, I struggle to fathom why on some occasions then, I felt being alienated by a group of higher class kids? In essence, my personal observation was that the kids from higher social backgrounds rarely befriended those from ordinary backgrounds. Again, this is my personal experience. To be honest, now when I look back, I feel rather proud to have come this far in my life, despite being an ordinary ex-serviceman’s daughter. I feel proud to be a KV-ite, especially, for coming from a not-so-well-to-do KV school compared to the other one in the area. My classmates were the kids of watchmen, farmers, servicemen – certainly not of any officer grade, and probably that’s why we all could blend so well that we truly embraced the values that the school imparted to us. So yes, KVs do make you leave your social prejudices behind before entering the campus, but is it possible to completely wipe out the class distinction from the minds of those who actually know they come from a reasonably superior class? I think not, based on what I witnessed when I was growing up.

    Sometimes, class distinction makes you a fighter in life, as you develop to have a point to prove to others. I can see why Ms Narayan thinks segregation might well work, but the way it is proposed to be implemented in the RTE act, might prove counterproductive in the end.

    A post that brought my good old school memories back which I always cherish. Thanks for sharing.

    • daddysan says :

      It’s comments like these that make writing worthwhile. Much respect and thank you for sharing this experience.

      Yes, class distinctions can never be completely obliterated. After all, a child spends more than two-thirds of the day outside the controlled environment of the school. Perhaps these prejudices are reinforced at home or through the peer group. This is a reality. But your comment, especially the acknowledgment of a class barrier, your refusal to let it stand in your way and the ability to acknowledge the disparity is proof that the KVs did what they were supposed to.

      Ms. Narayan’s post is bigoted and elitist. Make no mistake about that. If a school is able to create equals for 8 hours a day, irrespective of other externalities that may affect a child’s judgment, it is a lesson which will stay with you for life, as you have demonstrated.

  7. Anirban says :

    Read this a few days ago and enjoyed it thoroughly, though I never went to a KV. You have a very nice way of presenting opinions, experiences, anecdotes, and facts without boring people who have not thought about the issue in any great detail (me!).

    Keep it up, sir!

  8. Salonee Pareek says :

    Its great how you have put things into perspective – not just with your views but with the sharing of your own story, your own experience. It is a beautiful reminder of school. What struck me most was – I too had a science teacher named Ms Chacko – in another city, another time. But your experience is so universal and particular at once! And impeccable writing! Thank you.

  9. Himanshu says :

    A brilliant post! Being an Air Force officer’s son and a KVite, I can totally resonate your thought when you say:-
    //Money couldn’t help you with that. Only discipline.//
    //We understood that KVs weren’t even half as glamorous, but it never really mattered.//

    I think the education that is imparted in KV’s is holistic and goes beyond the bounds set by most of the educational institutions.

    Kudos!

  10. Sweta Ravisankar says :

    Hi,

    Great article.

    I was in KV IIT POwai, Mumbai for 9 years and enjoyed every bit of it; be it friends, education or extracurricular acitivities.

    I was part of the RSP Band, WEnt to several tours, Won the Rajya Puruskar, Took part actively in all cultural activities, Represented the school for TT in Reginals and was also an above avg student in academics.

    I think KV taught us to do this multi tasking. We also had a dynamic set of teachers. They were all enthusiastic and wanted to push us further but not overstretch us.

    I personally feel grateful to m parents to ave taken the decision to put me into KV IIt Powai.

    Sweta

  11. Nikunj Vohra says :

    Interesting piece. Having studied in some KVs myself, I relate to a lot of what you’ve said and agree with most of it, but I also think there’s more to the issue.

    Firstly, not all KVs are that great. Typically, those in/near the bigger Cantonments are – and this often has to do with the patronage and sometimes funds that they receive from military units nearby, and more importantly – with a pool of Officers’ wives and daughters willing to teach there at relatively low salaries. If one goes to KVs in smaller towns or in ‘civilian’ areas, the quality of education isn’t quite the same.

    Secondly, as someone who believes in free markets and capitalist enterprise, I cannot approve of this move by the govt. If I’m operating a private school as a business, with no support from the govt or any other org, why should I be forced to accept these conditions? It seems like the govt trying to free-ride on the backs of entrepreneurs after having failed in their duty to provide affordable, universal education. It’s not fair. And this, along with other stupid laws that – for example – do not allow people to run normal schools ‘for-profit’, are impeding the professionalization of school education, and preventing the private sector from doing in education what it has done in, say, telecom.

    Thirdly, at the risk of being politically incorrect, I believe we should have some class distinction and some elite, exclusive institutions. Imagine if the Taj Hotel had to give away 25% of its rooms to the homeless. Or if 25% of First Class seats on a flight were given away to people picked up from ‘general’ train compartments. I do believe in the principle of equal opportunity to all, but it is equally important for people to have to earn their stripes.

    Having differences gives people something to aspire to, and it also allows those with means to enjoy the fruits of their labor like others can’t. The individual’s desire to get ahead of the pack is what drives the entire human race forward. We shouldn’t interfere too much with that. Such reservation is unnatural and unfair – and it doesn’t work, as many Communist experiences have proved.

    That being said, when I say elite schools, I’m only talking about things like better infrastructure, more qualified teachers etc. – that actually contribute to a good education, and that I would want for my kid to give him some advantages over others. I’m certainly NOT for creating a sense of entitlement or snobbery among the kids. The really good schools know how to balance the two.

    • daddysan says :

      Nikunj, I did cover the fact that not all KVs are up to the mark in my post. I agree with your reasons why that may be so.

      I too, don’t approve of the 25% reservation. It’s the government’s way of free-riding over existing, better run and better infrastructure. Just like the Lokpal was the citizenry’s way of abdicating responsibility, the RTE is the government’s way of doing so.

      On your third point, I had a very spirited discussion with greatbong on facebook where he made a similar point. All I’ll say to that is – education is a necessity. Hotel rooms in the Taj are not. Traveling first class isn’t. It’s about what’s good for the collective. The RTE is proof of the right intent and the wrong implementation. A way out of this mess is to subsidize education for folks BPL. This could be something as simple as a monthly voucher for each child (say, upto Rs. 1000 per month). The parent can reimburse this voucher at a school of his/her choice. Of course, there’s always the possibility a school may increase their fees but that will earn them a bad PR rap.

      In any case, none of this is going to work – not the government school system, the private-public partnership that can enable such a voucher system, or the RTE targets unless the government eliminates middlemen and corruption in the supply chain for such benefits. The States are cleverly delaying the plan because no one wants to make the 35% investment commitment for RTE. They all want the Center to pay up – almost 30,000 crores over the next 5 years. This Act too, will get lost in such a game of cat and mouse.

      I disagree with your assertion that elitism should be encouraged. I don’t think the point here is to accentuate class differences inside a school. Aspiration shouldn’t be an objective of education. Rich or poor, there are enough reference points in everyday life outside a school where we’re bombarded with examples of inequity or even inspiration to aspire. It’s not the school’s role to highlight disparity.

      • Nikunj Vohra says :

        I agree with most of what you’ve said, but I still have a few differences.

        I agree education is a necessity and RTE is a good thing, but one can only grant the ‘right’ to a reasonably decent education – and going to, say, a Doon School, should continue to remain a privilege that has to be earned, and not become a right. This is why I chose the Taj and First Class analogies for reservations in private schools. Also, I don’t mind kids from poor families joining these schools AT ALL, as long as they get in on merit and not some stupid reservation.

        As for the elitism, I think you misunderstood me a bit. I certainly do not want schools to pamper kids or allow them to feel superior or anything like that – those are not the values I would want my kid to learn. I meant it purely from the parent’s perspective. I’ve worked hard to get where I am, and now I want to send my kid to the best school I can afford and he can qualify for. There, I want him to get the best education he can get, learn the right values etc. – and I do not believe giving away 25% of the seats to otherwise-undeserving candidates would help this. In fact, if there are ‘merit’ students and ‘quota’ students in school – it would actually highlight disparity and confuse the kids.

      • daddysan says :

        Hmm, The Doon example is a tough one. I understand there should be no free handouts but I do believe the first barrier to overcome is providing the opportunity to study at Doon. If the fee is subsidized and the student is of good character and potential (not sure how Doon screens its applicants), he/she should have a fair shot at admission.

        It’s like receiving a sports scholarship to study at Harvard. Your ability, in sports or academics, proves your worth to the institution, so they accept you. Of course, I’m quoting an undergraduate-level example and the RTE is restricted to schools, but it’s the same principle.

        If the school has an entrance exam, which you’ve cleared, then cost should not stand in your way. That becomes elitism.

        I’m totally in agreement that reservation is NOT the solution. Reserving seats is no different from “management quotas”, legacy admissions or “donation seats”, all rampant today and all equally detrimental to the health of the institute.

  12. purplesque says :

    Wonderfully written, daddy_san. Your writing is a testimony for the KV system.

  13. Asmita Sinha says :

    Not read the comments as yet so if anyone has touched upon this earlier, sincere apologies for repeating.

    The schools and school environment are a different beast today as compared to how it used to be in 80s. I passed out of school in 86 and pretty much had similar experience as narrated by you. But today’s kids are extremely class and status conscious. I cannot speak for KVs today or current KV teachers, but in private schools the teachers are pretty much similar to class conscious society. They hardly ever go the extra length like you have described Ms. Chacko. I too had many such teachers in school and college time but unfortunately rarely does such a teacher cross our path today. They just don’t carry the commitment to help the students explore their subject. From what I have seen, their commitment is to teach the syllabus the way it is acceptable to school; they hardly experiment or bring in new energy into teaching. Can’t entirely blame the teachers also. Schools discourage any experimentation or going beyond course syllabus.

    • daddysan says :

      Thanks for that Asmita. A friend of mine also commented on Facebook that the quality may have deteriorated. This is sad, if it’s true. KVs still stand for affordable, quality education and I hope the instances you mentioned are isolated.

  14. Shridip Bhattacharya says :

    I have studied in KV from 1991-2003. In short I can upfront say that I have spent my whole school life in Kendriya Vidyalaya. And today I can say proudly that I am a KVian. The culture we were taught is unmatched in the society. Anybody can easily distinguish between a KVian and convent guy in a group. We have taken pledge for 12 Years- “India is my country & all indians are my brothers & Sisters….” & we really mean it. The way a KVian represent him/herself in a group or the way somebody represent others in a group says everything about his/her education. I still cherish those days.

    • daddysan says :

      True, Shridip. That pledge is a tad legendary, isn’t it? We never really paid attention to its import, droning it mechanically every morning at the assembly. Over time, it makes sense :)

  15. Not A Witty Nick says :

    It is quite ironic that Public Schools in India are private elite schools!

    My cousin’s kid was rejected after a test for admission to kindergarten at Sri Kumaran’s Children’s Home not because of any merit reason but their reason was that her parents(a doctor and an engineer) can afford to get her admitted into a school and instead chose a kid whose father was a clerk in a PSU and mother, a housewife(they were behind my cousin in the queue.)

    The same school half a decade later has started a posh ICSE school and has stuck to its principles to an extent(it does not receive donations, only fees has to be remitted to its legit bank account) but the difference is that, last year it took its students to Singapore for school excursion, charging a whopping sum, this will not to be possible for them when RTE kicks in, poor kids cannot afford to pay an amount like Rs. 20,000 for a school trip!

    • daddysan says :

      Interesting. I find the refusal to admit as disturbing as the government’s mandate of a 25% reservation for underprivileged students.

  16. Giribala says :

    Nicely put! I went to various schools and colleges in India and if there was any reason to feel superior or inferior to anyone it was their achievement at school rather than their parents’ elitism!

  17. Akshara says :

    I’m not qualified to comment on KVs since I studied in a pv school but I must say that the most popular tuitions in Class 12 were those run by KV teachers. Wonder at so many KV teachers having to supplement their income n this manner. But I do agree that the RTE is the govt.’s way of giving up on providing education and trying to pass on the burden to private schools. While still collecting taxes and educational cesses.

    • daddysan says :

      Hi Akshara, I agree. KV teachers are quite underpaid and hence the need to supplement their income through tuitions. But they teach because they love what they do and it comes across in the classroom too (at least it did when I studied there!)

  18. Robi says :

    A brilliant read. I wholeheartedly agree. I went from a public school system to Woodstock for years. To place a screen on who gets to go to which school, and what quality of education your income allows you to get is quite ridiculous.

    Who’s your daddy-san!

  19. wisetongue19 says :

    i also wanted to write one on RTE, but I gave up since I figured none of my blog readers were interested in that shizzle.
    here’s a point they’re all forgetting, and tell me if im wrong but : does the RTE have a point?
    its introduced with the urban poor in mind.

    if i go to a really poor district in jharkand, will i find a private school willing to accommodate poor students? and leading on from that, isn’t the RTE
    1) targeted at urban india and urban india alone, while rural india continues to lag behind in education. we all know the state of government schools.
    2) has the government introduced the RTE to coverup for its failure in providing educational infrastructure?

    for example.

    the US has a variety of public schools everywhere and private schools are allowed to function however they please. public schooling is free and compulsory unless reasons can be provided otherwise.
    parents have a choice between making their kids attend public school (for which county taxes, state or federal taxes are paid) or private school (for which all taxes are paid plus the schools own academic fees).
    theres no compulsion on any parent to send their kid to private school since public schooling is free anyway.

    in india, thats not an option to people (poor or rich, forward or backward). public, government provided schooling is abysmal at best and non-existent at worst.

    so isnt it right to conclude
    1) that the government is covering up for its failure to provide basic primary and secondary education over a 60 year time span by introducing this law
    2) its using available infrastructure (private schools) because it failed to provide just that in 60 years.

    im not against underprivileged boys and girls studying in private schools. but the focus shouldnt be on private schools but rather the governments (state and central) complete failure in providing free public schooling to students.

    am i right or wrong?

    • daddysan says :

      You’re absolutely right. I’ve covered that point in my reply to Nikunj below. This is just the govt’s way of abdicating responsibility; free-riding on a better system.

      The US manages its public school system because it runs its existing infrastructure very well. There’s accountability for public schools not just at a national level but at a county level too. Teachers are paid decently, regularly, so they show up. The standard of education is monitored every year through a detailed scrutiny of examination results so issues like grade inflation or consistently poor performance may be identified. The US makes its systems work because the people who live there believe in it. I’m not parroting a pro-USA narrative – it’s a simple fact.

      • wisetongue19 says :

        “The US makes its systems work because the people who live there believe in it”
        thats extremely true. india is what it is today because the non-military officialdom has comprehensively and totally failed us in every single sphere.

  20. wisetongue19 says :

    Reblogged this on Craptivate and commented:
    Phenomenal.

  21. wisetongue19 says :

    this is true. +1, reblogged.

  22. Radhika Doraiswamy says :

    My mother was a teacher and than a principal of in kendriya Vidyalaya schools. Right up to the day she died, we used to have her former studentsl. dropping in to visit her, and thank her. She was a great teacher, and the school let her be just that.

    • daddysan says :

      Thanks for sharing Radhika. Many of my teachers from the KV in Pune still have a loyal fan following. In fact, I visited one of them during my trip back home a couple of years ago and he reciprocated when he visited the US.

  23. Karthik says :

    Spent entire 12 years of Schooling in 5 KV’s , will agree on most part but a broad stroke of no social distinction would be not true entirely. Almost all KV’s I went to were Army Run and there was distinct social class of Officer’s children group , JCO’s and Senior OR children and other supporting staff children. We all mingled but it was very very rare that an officer’s son and OR’s Son were best friends. I am not saying did not exist but were very far and few , so even in KV the the class distinction exists. The learning is that the school system and structure allows for a greater chance mingling. The similar effort in a private school would fail because objective of a corporate schools are very different from that of a KV.

    Nothing can match a KV but learning of KV have been tried outside KV by numerous clones and have failed, so need to be careful on broad genralisation. Also city KV’s and outpost KV’s are completely different animals , have studied in Arunachal as well as Madras

    • daddysan says :

      Quite true about the outposts vs city part. I acknowledged in my post the certainty that not all of the 1000+ KVs are up to the mark. My point is that they try hard.

  24. Archana (@evglere) says :

    I have studied in 3 KVs till now – and I agree with every word you have typed here. I was very surprised at all the anti-RTE articles doing the rounds, until I realised these are students who have stayed in one narrow-minded school the whole of their lives.
    It’s a pity.

    • daddysan says :

      Thanks Archana. I should point out that I’m not a proponent of the current RTE. The reasons are outlined in Shantanu’s post I linked.

Leave a Reply

